Waraxe IT Security Portal  
  Login or Register
::  Home  ::  Search  ::  Your Account  ::  Forums  ::   Waraxe Advisories  ::  Tools  ::
May 14, 2024
Menu
 Home
 Logout
 Discussions
 Forums
 Members List
 IRC chat
 Tools
 Base64 coder
 MD5 hash
 CRC32 checksum
 ROT13 coder
 SHA-1 hash
 URL-decoder
 Sql Char Encoder
 Affiliates
 y3dips ITsec
 Md5 Cracker
 User Manuals
 AlbumNow
 Content
 Content
 Sections
 FAQ
 Top
 Info
 Feedback
 Recommend Us
 Search
 Journal
 Your Account



User Info
Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname
Password
(Register)

Membership:
Latest: MichaelSnaRe
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 9145

People Online:
Visitors: 375
Members: 0
Total: 375
PacketStorm News
·301 Moved Permanently

read more...
Log in Register Forum FAQ Memberlist Search
IT Security and Insecurity Portal

www.waraxe.us Forum Index -> All other hashes -> IPB MD5.Salt Problem
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
IPB MD5.Salt Problem
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:32 am Reply with quote
abackdoor
Regular user
Regular user
 
Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 5




Alright guys, I'm creating an IPB hash cracker in PHP right now. I have a strong server to do the work; once I finish the Alpha, I will convert over to a CUDA GUI and will be sure to release it. But the problem I am having...

Password is: Q2XjhY32w5!e$AwP
Salt is: |ad5=
Hash is: 034345178623d00ef1dd2f3ad966a633

Code:
<?php
$salt = '|ad5=';
$new_pass = 'Q2XjhY32w5!e$AwP';
echo md5( md5($salt) . md5( $new_pass ) );
?>


Gives me a hash output of:
d971880f5186faddf4415f1e37384e1e

No match!

I am aware that $ is in the password, and in PHP, could be treated as a variable. So when I use "" instead of '' I still get a different hash output; but then, what parameters would I use for when I allow a user to submit a password and salt (for adding to the database to crack), because we don't know if the user is going to have a $ in any of the inputs.

Can somebody get the hash to match appropriately, and help me out please?

Cheers. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:31 am Reply with quote
vince213333
Advanced user
Advanced user
 
Joined: Aug 03, 2009
Posts: 737
Location: Belgium




For now, I can explain the use of ' and " in programming languages Smile

If you use a string between single quotes, the string is stored as it's written. On the other hand, if you use double quotes, the string will be interpreted. So any variables in the string will be replaced by it's value.

Example:

$string = 'value';
echo 'first: $string'; -> first: $string
echo "second: $string"; -> second: value
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:45 pm Reply with quote
abackdoor
Regular user
Regular user
 
Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 5




vince213333 wrote:
For now, I can explain the use of ' and " in programming languages Smile

If you use a string between single quotes, the string is stored as it's written. On the other hand, if you use double quotes, the string will be interpreted. So any variables in the string will be replaced by it's value.

Example:

$string = 'value';
echo 'first: $string'; -> first: $string
echo "second: $string"; -> second: value


Sorry my English is not well and I am needing to translate this.
So if I understand you correctly, '' should be used in my case; but when it is, the output is still different from the output in the database.

Thank you.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:42 am Reply with quote
vince213333
Advanced user
Advanced user
 
Joined: Aug 03, 2009
Posts: 737
Location: Belgium




No. You should use '. Because then the $ will be kept Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:44 pm Reply with quote
abackdoor
Regular user
Regular user
 
Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 5




vince213333 wrote:
No. You should use '. Because then the $ will be kept Smile


I am using ' ' . This is my code:

Code:
<?php
$salt = '|ad5=';
$new_pass = 'Q2XjhY32w5!e$AwP';
echo md5( md5($salt) . md5( $new_pass ) );
?>


However, the hash output SHOULD BE 034345178623d00ef1dd2f3ad966a633.
I feel hopeless. Sad And, I appreciate your help. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:41 am Reply with quote
nubcake
Regular user
Regular user
 
Joined: Oct 02, 2008
Posts: 20




Code:

<?php
$salt = "|ad5=";
$new_pass = "Q2XjhY32w5!e$AwP";
echo md5( md5( $salt ) . md5( $new_pass ) );
?>

i tried it with " instead of ' (you should only use ' for variables from what i know).

got the following:
3b27c4425fd18cf26894e05dec158802
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:10 am Reply with quote
vince213333
Advanced user
Advanced user
 
Joined: Aug 03, 2009
Posts: 737
Location: Belgium




I've tried the password from your first post.

But according to passwordspro, 034345178623d00ef1dd2f3ad966a633:|ad5= isn't the hash:salt of the password Q2XjhY32w5!e$AwP.
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:13 pm Reply with quote
abackdoor
Regular user
Regular user
 
Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 5




vince213333 wrote:
I've tried the password from your first post.

But according to passwordspro, 034345178623d00ef1dd2f3ad966a633:|ad5= isn't the hash:salt of the password Q2XjhY32w5!e$AwP.


Did you do it double md5'ed in PW_Pro?

md5( md5($salt) . md5( $new_pass ) );
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:09 pm Reply with quote
vince213333
Advanced user
Advanced user
 
Joined: Aug 03, 2009
Posts: 737
Location: Belgium




I think i'm well aware of the algorithm of IPB Smile
View user's profile Send private message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:36 pm Reply with quote
abackdoor
Regular user
Regular user
 
Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 5




vince213333 wrote:
I think i'm well aware of the algorithm of IPB Smile


Yeah, I just opened up Passwords Pro and I played around with creating a few users in my IPB database with the value of $ in the password. The hash output is always different when $ is used.

Either md5(md5($salt).md5($pass)) does something to character $ when used in PHP, or, IPB does something when a special character like $ is inputted.

I'll look deeper into this, if anybody figures something out help would be appreciated; thankx! Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message
IPB MD5.Salt Problem
  www.waraxe.us Forum Index -> All other hashes
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  




Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group






Space Raider game for Android, free download - Space Raider gameplay video - Zone Raider mobile games
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments and posts are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2004-2020 Janek Vind "waraxe"
Page Generation: 0.142 Seconds