Waraxe IT Security Portal  
  Login or Register
::  Home  ::  Search  ::  Your Account  ::  Forums  ::   Waraxe Advisories  ::  Tools  ::
March 28, 2024
Menu
 Home
 Logout
 Discussions
 Forums
 Members List
 IRC chat
 Tools
 Base64 coder
 MD5 hash
 CRC32 checksum
 ROT13 coder
 SHA-1 hash
 URL-decoder
 Sql Char Encoder
 Affiliates
 y3dips ITsec
 Md5 Cracker
 User Manuals
 AlbumNow
 Content
 Content
 Sections
 FAQ
 Info
 Feedback
 Recommend Us
 Search
 Journal
 Your Account

User Info
Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname
Password
(Register)

Membership:
Latest: MichaelSnaRe
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 9145

People Online:
Visitors: 644
Members: 0
Total: 644
PacketStorm News
·301 Moved Permanently

read more...
IT Security and Insecurity Portal

www.waraxe.us Forum Index -> General discussion -> Is a Nivida Graphics Card worth it?
Is a Nivida Graphics Card worth it?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:02 am Reply with quote
renaker
Active user
Active user

I am new to playing with hashes, but in the last week I've become extremely addicted. There is just something about attacking hashes that keeps me coming back to the comp. I am considering getting one of Nivida's graphics card to play with some of elcomsof's software and Extreme GPU Bruteforcer.

My real question is, does running 50 - 600 million p/s actually make a difference when truly bruteforcing? If I wanted to bruteforce a pass between 1 and 15 characters that used a full character set, something like this (regex): [a-zA-Z0-9 \!\@\#\$\%\^\&\*\(\)\_\-\=\|\+\;\:\'\"\,\.\<\.\>\/\?\`\~\\]

will I even be able to bruteforce it even with those incredible speeds? I lack the mind capacity to grasp the concept of 2^128 possible hashes. That sort of number just blows me away. I don't know if that would take 3 hours with a powerful gfx card, or 3 centuries. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.